We Can’t Teach What We Don’t Know

Over the next 3 to 4 weeks I’ll be posting my takeaways from the book “We Can’t Teach What We Don’t Know”, by Gary R. Howard. For the foreseeable future, the overwhelming majority of teachers are white, and diversity in our classrooms will continue to increase. As a white leader in education, I am doing everything I can to increase my cultural competence and ensure that the systems we build in our school district do not perpetuate racial and systemic inequities.

I know that I will learn a tremendous amount through this book study, and also through our strategic planning process, which maintains a laser focus on racial equity. I invite you all to learn with me, share your knowledge and experiences, and ask hard questions. After just having finished the introduction to the book, I already have one big takeaway that sticks with me.

Regardless of our skin color, culture, or anything that separates us as educators, we hold the power to conserve or transform our education systems; it will take personal and systemic transformation. This is, and will be difficult work, and through learning together, we can do this.

Author: chadmaxa

about.me/chadmaxa

Leave a Reply

